News, Jazz, NPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Science / Space

3 Scientists Awarded Nobel Prize In Physics For Discoveries Related To Black Holes

The Nobel Prize gold medal, awarded to each laureate.
The Nobel Prize gold medal, awarded to each laureate.

The prize goes to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez. Ghez says she hopes it will inspire young people, and particularly women, to pursue careers in science.

The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Roger Penrose of the University of Oxford, for demonstrating that the general theory of relativity leads to the formation of black holes; and to Reinhard Genzel of the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics and Andrea Gehz of the University of California Los Angeles, for the discovery of a compact solid at the center of the Milky Way Galaxy which governs the orbits of stars, for which a black hole is the only currently known explanation.

As is customary, the announcement was made at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm. The chemistry, literature and peace prizes will be awarded this week, and the economics prize will be awarded next Monday.

Copyright 2020 NPR. To see more, visit

WUSF 89.7 depends on donors for the funding it takes to provide you the most trusted source of news and information here in town, across our state, and around the world. Support WUSF now by giving monthly, or make a one-time donation online.