© 2023 All Rights reserved WUSF
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
WUSF News is committed to covering the upcoming presidential election with a focus on the issues – and not the political horse race. WUSF is pairing with WMFE in Orlando to cover the 2020 presidential election with a specific focus on the I-4 Corridor. We will focus on the issues and topics that matter most to voters in this crucial region, who could sway the election.

2020 Elections: Florida's Qualified Candidates For Federal And State Races

Thomas Iacobucci/WUSF Public Media

The deadline for candidates to qualify in Florida for state senator and representative races was noon today. Here's a list of the candidates who qualified for both federal and state elections ahead of the party primaries on Aug. 18. The general election is Tuesday, Nov. 3. (Note: This list will be updated throughout the day as election offices make more information available.)

U.S. House of Representatives
(In districts serving the greater Tampa Bay area)

District 9

  • Castillo, Jose (REP)
  • Hill, Clay (WRI)
  • Olson, William P. "Bill" (REP)
  • Ortiz, Sergio E. (REP)
  • Soto, Darren (DEM) *Incumbent
  • Wright, Christopher (REP)

District 10

  • Demmings, Val (DEM) *Incumbent
  • Francois, Vennia (REP)
  • Montague, Willie J. (REP)
  • Yasmine, Sufiyah (WRI)

District 11

  • Cottrell, Dana Marie (DEM)
  • Webster, Daniel (REP) *Incumbent

District 12

  • Bilirakis, Gus Michael (REP) *Incumbent
  • Walker, Kimberly (DEM)

District 13

  • Buck, George (REP)
  • Crist, Charlie (DEM) *Incumbent
  • Curnow, Jacob (WRI)
  • Griffin, Sheila (REP)
  • Luna, Anna Paulina (REP)
  • Makki, Amanda (REP)
  • Newby, Sharon Barry (REP)

District 14

  • Castor, Kathy (DEM) *Incumbent
  • Elliot, Paul Sidney (REP)
  • Quinn, Christine Y. (REP)

District 15

  • Cohn, Alan (DEM)
  • Franklin, Scott (REP)
  • Hattersley, Adam (DEM)
  • Philippe, Jesse (DEM)
  • Spano, Ross (REP) *Incumbent

District 16

  • Buchanan, Vern (REP) *Incumbent
  • Good, Margaret (DEM)

District 17

  • Ellison, Allen (DEM)
  • Murray, Theodore (NPA)
  • Steube, Greg (REP) *Incumbent

State Senate
(In districts serving the greater Tampa Bay area)

District 11

  • Adams, Joshua Eli (REP)
  • Bracy, Randolph (DEM) *Incumbent

District 13

  • Anderson, Josh (REP)
  • Stewart, Linda (DEM) *Incumbent

District 15

  • James, Mike (NPA)
  • Minnis Jr, Louis T. (REP)
  • Torres Jr, Victor M. (DEM) *Incumbent

District 17

  • Fretwell, Scot (DEM)
  • Mayfield, Debbie (REP) *Incumbent
  • Snyder, Phillip (NPA)

District 19

  • Paylan, Christina (NPA)
  • Rouson, Darryl Ervin (DEM) *Incumbent

District 21

  • Boyd, Jim (REP)
  • Houman, John Manners (REP)
  • Linton, Amanda V. (DEM)

District 23

  • Gruters, Joe (REP) *Incumbent
  • Kaplan, Robert (NPA)
  • Norman, Katherine (DEM)

State House of Representatives
(In districts serving the greater Tampa Bay area)

District 32

  • Dukes, Stephanie L. (DEM)
  • Kero, Linda (DEM)
  • Morales, Ryan (DEM)
  • Sabatini, Anthony  (REP) *Incumbent

District 33

  • Hage, Brett T. (REP) *Incumbent
  • Melvin, Mamie "Dee" (DEM)

District 34

  • Gosai, Dushyant Jethagir (DEM)
  • Massullo Jr, Ralph E. (REP) *Incumbent

District 35

  • Ingoglia, Blaise (REP) *Incumbent
  • Laufenberg, Keith G. (DEM)

District 36

  • Endonino, Daniel (DEM)
  • Mariano, Amber (REP) *Incumbent

District 37

  • Garcia, Tammy (DEM)
  • Zika, Ardian (REP) *Incumbent

District 38

  • Maggard, Randy (REP) *Incumbent
  • Staver, Brian (DEM)

District 39

  • Cause, Chris (DEM)
  • Tomkow, Josie (REP) *Incumbent

District 40

  • Barrow, Jan (DEM)
  • Burton, Colleen (REP) *Incumbent
  • Michie, Emily (NPA)

District 41

  • Killebrew, Sam (REP) *Incumbent
  • West, Jared (DEM)

District 42

  • Cady, Barbara Ann (DEM)
  • Hawkins, Fred (REP)
  • Liebnitzky, Dianna (REP)
  • Sanchez, Leroy (NPA)
  • Scott, Gary (REP)
  • Valentin, Bienvenido "Benny" (REP)

District 43

  • Arrington, Kristen (DEM)
  • Barrio, Alex (DEM)
  • Irizarry Sr, Carlos L. (DEM)
  • Jeng, Horng "Andrew" (DEM)
  • Lyles, Tamika (DEM)
  • Rangel, Ricardo (DEM)

District 44

  • Blanco, Frank Edel (REP)
  • Farrell, Andy (DEM)
  • Portigliatti, Bruno (REP)
  • Thompson, Geraldine F. (DEM) *Incumbent

District 45

  • Brown, Kamia L. (DEM) *Incumbent

District 46

  • McCurdy, Travaris (DEM)

District 47

  • Eskamani, Anna V. (DEM) *Incumbent
  • Morenski, Kevin (REP)
  • Sisson, Jeremy (REP)

District 48

  • Martinez, Jesus (REP)
  • Morales, Daisy (DEM)
  • Pena, Nelson (DEM)
  • Rocha, Julio (DEM)
  • Tsonis, Tony (DEM)
  • Vilchez Santiago, Samuel (DEM)

District 55

  • Hancock, Ned (REP)
  • Hensley, Jacob (WRI)
  • Tripp, Linda (DEM)
  • Tuck, Kaylee (REP)

District 56

  • Bautista, Eric (DEM)
  • Bell, Melony (REP) *Incumbent
  • Davis, James (DEM)

District 57

  • Beltran, Mike (REP) *Incumbent
  • Hottenstein, Scott "Mr. H" (DEM)

District 58

  • McClure, Lawrence (REP) *Incumbent
  • Townsend Jr, Cleo L. "CL" (DEM)

District 59

  • Kushmer, Danny (REP)
  • Learned, Andrew (DEM)
  • Owen, Michael (REP)

District 60

  • Jenkinds, Julie (DEM)
  • Toledo, Jackie (REP) *Incumbent

District 61

  • Hart, Dianne "Ms. Dee" (DEM) *Incumbent

District 62

  • Rodriguez-Person, Laurie (NPA)
  • Urbina Capo, Angel S. (REP)
  • Valdes, Susan L. (DEM) *Incumbent

District 63

  • Driskell, Fentrice (DEM) *Incumbent

District 64

  • Grant, James (REP) *Incumbent
  • Harrington, Jessica (DEM)

District 65

  • Johnson, Kelly (DEM)
  • Sprowls, Chris (REP) *Incumbent

District 66

  • DiCeglie, Nick (REP) *Incumbent
  • Plantamura, Patricia M. (DEM)

District 67

  • Douglas, Dawn (DEM)
  • Henkel, Michael R. "Mike" (DEM)
  • Latvala, Chris (REP) *Incumbent

District 68

  • Diamond, Ben (DEM) *Incumbent
  • Tito, Matt (REP)

District 69

  • Chaney, Linda (REP)
  • Webb, Jennifer N. (DEM) *Incumbent

District 70

  • Bell, Keisha (DEM)
  • Grimsley, Michelle (DEM)
  • Oliver, Mark (DEM)
  • Rayner, Michele K. (DEM)

District 71

  • Mele, Andy (DEM)
  • Robinson, Will (REP) *Incumbent

District 72

  • Barcomb, Donna (REP)
  • Buckman, Drake (DEM)
  • McFarland, Fiona (REP)
  • Miller, Jason (REP)

District 73

  • Fairey, David Reeves (DEM)
  • Gregory, Tommy (REP) *Incumbent

District 74

  • Buchanan, James (REP) *Incumbent
  • Stortstrom, Lisa (DEM)

District 75

  • Grant, Michael (REP) *Incumbent
  • Jones, David G. (DEM)

State Attorney, Circuit Judge, and Public Defender races can be found on the Florida Department of State website.


Alysia Cruz is the WUSF Stephen Noble news intern for the fall 2019 semester. She earned her Bachelor’s degree at the University of South Florida in Communication and is now enrolled at USF St. Petersburg, pursuing her Master’s in Digital Journalism & Design concentrating on food writing.
WUSF 89.7 depends on donors for the funding it takes to provide you the most trusted source of news and information here in town, across our state, and around the world. Support WUSF now by giving monthly, or make a one-time donation online.