News, Jazz, NPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Local / State

Low Wage Workers In Florida Will See A Small Bump In Pay in 2017

dollar.jpg
MoneyBlogNewz
/
Flickr Creative Commons
Employees who don't receive at least $8.10 an hour beginning Jan. 1 should notify employers of the law.

Florida's minimum wage will increase by a nickel next year.

On January 1, the state's minimum wage will go from $8.05 per hour to $8.10 an hour. Tipped workers meanwhile will earn $5.08 an hour, also an increase of five cents.

In 2004, voters approved a statewide minimum wage. The Florida Minimum Wage Amendment was approved by a 71 % margin.  It’s recalculated each year and is based on the Consumer Price Index.

The federal minimum wage meanwhile has remained at $7.25 since 2009.

According to a recent survey by "Public Policy Polling," a majority of Americans support raising that minimum to at least $10 an hour.

During the 2016 legislative session, state lawmakers sought to raise Florida’s minimum wage to $15 per hour.  Bills filed in both the House and the Senate never made it to a vote.

WUSF 89.7 depends on donors for the funding it takes to provide you the most trusted source of news and information here in town, across our state, and around the world. Support WUSF now by giving monthly, or make a one-time donation online.