© 2023 All Rights reserved WUSF
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Ashley Moody, Bob Gualtieri Appointed To Presidential Law Enforcement Commission

Woman speaks at podium with military members behind her
Delaney Brown / WUSF Public Media
WUSF Public Media
State Attorney General Ashley Moody is one of two Florida officials named to a Presidential Law Enforcement Commission. CREDIT Delaney Brown/WUSF Public Media

Florida’s law enforcement agencies will be represented by two local officials who have been appointed to a Presidential commission. 

Attorney General William Barr announced the Presidential Commission on Law Enforcement and the Administration of Justice Wednesday, which looks to modernize solutions for reducing modern crime in America.

Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody and Pinellas County Sheriff Bob Gualtieri are among the 18  law enforcement officials named to assist in solving crimes in a new age.  

“But as criminal threats and social conditions have changed the responsibilities and roles of police officers, there is a need for a modern study of how law enforcement can best protect and serve American communities,” Barr said during a press conference Wednesday.

The commission is comprised of members from all law enforcement background, ranging from police chiefs, county sheriffs, prosecutors, and one state Attorney General - Moody.

“I am honored to serve on President Trump’s Commission on Law Enforcement and the Administration of Justice to enhance the safety of all Americans,” Moody said. “President Trump’s support of our brave law enforcement officers and his commitment to protecting law-abiding Americans is inspiring, and through my service on his Commission, I will work every day to further this worthy mission.”

According to Barr, “each member is expected to bring their own diverse experiences and backgrounds.”

In a statement released Wednesday, Gualtieri said, "I am honored to participate on this Presidential Commission and I'm looking forward to working with Florida Attorney General Ashley Moody and other leaders from across the country in this meaningful appointment."

The Commission is expected to meet monthly for the next year and then report its findings to the Attorney General, who will submit a final report to the President.

Other members of the commission include:

  • Chair: Phil Keith, Director, Community Oriented Policing Services
  • Vice-Chair: Katharine Sullivan, Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General, Office of Justice Programs
  • David Bowdich, Deputy Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Donald Washington, Director, United States Marshals Services
  • Regina Lombardo, Acting Director, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives
  • Erica Macdonald, United States Attorney, District Of Minnesota
  • D. Christopher Evans, Chief of Operations, Drug Enforcement Administration
  • James Clemmons, Sheriff, Richmond County, North Carolina
  • Frederick Frazier, City Council, McKinney, Texas/ Police Officer, Dallas Police Department
  • Gina Hawkins, Chief of Police, Fayetteville, North Carolina
  • Nancy Parr, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Chesapeake, Virginia
  • Craig Price, South Dakota Secretary of Public Safety
  • Gordon Ramsay, Chief of Police, Wichita, Kansas
  • David B. Rausch, Director, Tennessee Bureau of Investigation
  • John Samaniego, Sheriff, Shelby County, Alabama
  • James Smallwood, Police Officer, Nashville Metropolitan Police Department
Tristan Dodd is a WUSF/USF Zimmerman School digital news intern for spring 2020. He is currently a senior at USF, where he is completing his bachelor’s degree in Broadcast Production.