© 2023 All Rights reserved WUSF
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Tampa Bay Lightning Win Top GM Honor

Tampa Bay Lightning

Although the Tampa Bay Lightning fell just shy of winning hockey's coveted Stanley Cup - the team's general manager captured top honors Wednesday night.

The Lightning's Steve Yzerman was voted the National Hockey League's general manager of the year and received the trophy at the NHL's Awards Show in Las Vegas.

The league's 30 club general managers, a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media voted on the award at the conclusion of the Second Round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. The final voting totals include points for first, second and third place.

  1. Steve Yzerman, TBL 80 (9-10-5)
  2. Glen Sather, NYR 49 (7-3-5)
  3. Bob Murray, ANA 36 (3-6-3)
  4. Bryan Murray, OTT 32 (5-1-4)
  5.  Garth Snow, NYI 28 (3-3-4)
  6. David Poile, NSH 24 (2-4-2)
  7. Kevin Cheveldayoff, WPG 19 (2-2-3)
  8. Chuck Fletcher, MIN 19 (1-3-5)
  9. Brad Treliving, CGY 15 (3-0-0)
  10. Stan Bowman, CHI 13 (1-2-2)
  11. Brian MacLellan, WSH 11 (1-2-0)
  12. Ken Holland, DET 5 (0-1-2)
  13. Jim Benning, VAN 1 (0-0-1)
  14. Marc Bergevin, MTL 1 (0-0-1

Lightning owner Jeff Vinik convinced Yzerman to leave the Detroit Red Wings- where he spent his career as player, team captain and then executive- and join the Lightning. Yzerman took the Tampa Bay team to the Conference Finals in his first year - the 2010-2011 season.

Bobbie O’Brien has been a Reporter/Producer at WUSF since 1991. She reports on general news topics in Florida and the Tampa Bay region.
WUSF 89.7 depends on donors for the funding it takes to provide you the most trusted source of news and information here in town, across our state, and around the world. Support WUSF now by giving monthly, or make a one-time donation online.