© 2023 All Rights reserved WUSF
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Six New Inductees Into Riverwalk's Historical Monument Trail

Nathan Powell

This afternoon at the Riverwalk in Downtown Tampa, Mayor Bob Buckhorn and the Friends of Riverwalk unveiled the six newest inductees into the Historical Monument Trail. 

The Historic Monument Trail honors the people who have made significant contributions to the Bay Area. The six inductees are Blanche Armwood, Herman Glogowski, Bena Wolf Maas, Gavino Gutierrez, Hugh Campbell Macfarlane and Moses White.

Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn says these people helped build the foundation of the Tampa Bay area.

"Not only are we proud, but I think it shows the diversity of our community, and that diversity has been celebrated for generations, not just now, I mean what you see up there are African-Americans, Hispanics, Whites, you see men and women, you see Jews and Christians," Buckhorn said.

"Those were people who cared about their community that worked together, that got along, and as a result, we have this amazing city."

These 6 inductees join 12 other influential figures including Henry B. Plant and Vicente Martinez along the 2.5 mile trail at the Riverwalk.

WUSF 89.7 depends on donors for the funding it takes to provide you the most trusted source of news and information here in town, across our state, and around the world. Support WUSF now by giving monthly, or make a one-time donation online.