News, Jazz, NPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Arts / Culture

U of Tampa Wins Division II Baseball Title

University of Tampa

For the sixth time, the University of Tampa baseball team reigns supreme, winning the Division II championship over Minnesota State Mankato 8-2 Saturday night.

The Tampa Bay Times reports the Spartans (47-12) outscored their opponents 40-14 in the five games they played during the tournament in Cary, N.C.

"Just so proud of this group," Joe Urso said after capturing his third national title as Spartans coach. "They did everything we asked from them. (Starting pitcher) Jon Keller came out and set the tone for us."

UT had won titles in 1992-1993, 1998 and 2006-07.

Jake Schrader was named the tournament's most outstanding player after hitting .444 with two home runs and seven RBIs.

WUSF 89.7 depends on donors for the funding it takes to provide you the most trusted source of news and information here in town, across our state, and around the world. Support WUSF now by giving monthly, or make a one-time donation online.