Florida's Classical Music Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Modern Notebook for December 4, 2022

DEC 04 - Trio Klangspektrum for WEB.jpeg
Photo credit: Zuzanna Specjal
Trio Klangspektrum

This week’s Modern Notebook with Tyler Kline kicks off a a special series of programs celebrating the winter season: hear a mix of contemporary music about wintry weather, such as Elena Langer’s “Snow,” Shuying Li’s “Canton Snowstorm,” and “Dreams Grow Like Slow Ice” by Jay Batzner. Plus, we settle into stillness with a work by Anna Thorvaldsdottir titled “Ró,” which is named for the Icelandic word for “serenity,”

Then, a work for violin and percussion orchestra by Jarkko Hartikainen titled “ICE Concerto;” Jonathan Hannau“Snowfall,” from his new collection of works, “Pieces I Wrote on a Cold Winter Night;” and a frigid piece by Sebastian Fagerlund titled “Breathe,” which explores the timbres of clarinet, accordion, and cello through musical inhales and exhales.

Also featuring music by Gifrants, Kerensa Briggs, Sarah Lianne Lewis, and others; and performances by violinist Yolanda Bruno and pianist Isabelle David, pianist Marianne Parker with Crossing Borders Music, Riot Ensemble, Four Corners Ensemble, Trio Klangspektrum, violinist Sini Virtanen with the McCormick Percussion Group, and more.

Tune in Sunday night from 8 to 10 ET on Classical WSMR 89.1 and 103.9. Streaming at wsmr.org.

Hour 1

Waiting in the Rain for Snow by David Crowell

Beauté de l'hiver à Orford (Winter Beauty in Orford) by Gifrants.

Jay Batzner’s Dreams Grow Like Slow Ice.

Elena Langer’s Snow.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s .

Canton Snowstorm by Shuying Li.

Kerensa Briggs’ A Tender Shoot.

Modern Notebook - Dec 4 - Hour 1 Artist Collage.png

Hour 2

super chill by David Lang.

Jarkko Hartikainen’s ICE Concerto.

Snowfall by Jonathan Hannau.

Sarah Lianne Lewis’ Weathering.

Breathe by Sebastian Fagerlund.

Modern Notebook - Dec 4 - Hour 2 Artist Collage.png

Each week, Tyler Kline journeys into new territory and demystifies the music of living composers on Modern Notebook. Listen for a wide variety of exciting music that engages and inspires, along with the stories behind each piece and the latest releases from today’s contemporary classical artists. Discover what’s in store on Modern Notebook.

Tyler Kline is a composer whose music has been performed across the United States, and internationally in Canada, Brazil and Romania. His compositional interests encompass a wide variety of styles and mediums, from acoustic chamber and large ensemble works to electronic and electroacoustic music. A native of Kentucky, he earned his Master of Music degree in Composition from the University of South Florida. Learn more at tylerklinemusic.com.