Florida's Classical Music Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Evening Masterwork: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Serenade No. 7 in D Major, “Haffner” for February 4, 2023

Picture of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Mozart’s Serenade No. 7 is the first of two serenades that Mozart composed for the Haffner family. This eight-movement work, in particular, was composed in Salzburg in July of 1776 for a Haffner wedding. And for historians looking back, the consensus is that Mozart’s “Haffner” Serenade was his first breakout work for orchestra. It’s our Evening Masterwork tonight at 7 on Classical WSMR 89.1 and 103.9.