© 2022 All Rights reserved WUSF
News, Jazz, NPR
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Classical WSMR

Modern Notebook for May 15, 2022

Composer Fjóla Evans
Composer Fjóla Evans (photo credit: Landon Speers)

Coming up on this week’s Modern Notebook, Tyler Kline shares music for bass clarinet by Isang Yun plus an orchestral work by Rain Worthington titled “Dreaming Through Fog.” And Fjóla Evans’ “Augun” for solo cello, which is inspired by an Icelandic lullaby that is also a love poem written from the woman’s perspective.

Also featuring music by Shuying Li, Pascal Le Boeuf, Akmal Parwez, Nico Muhly, Vijay Iyer, Yoon-Ji Lee, and others; and performances by cellist India Gailey, Four Corners Ensemble, Duo Montagnard, bass clarinetist Alicia Lee, Ensemble Mise-En, and others.

That’s on this week’s Modern Notebook, Sunday night from 8 to 10 ET on Classical WSMR 89.1 and 103.9. Streaming at wsmr.org.

WUSF 89.7 depends on donors for the funding it takes to provide you the most trusted source of news and information here in town, across our state, and around the world. Support WUSF now by giving monthly, or make a one-time donation online.