Florida Price Gouging Hotline Activated
The hotline allows residents to report incidents of merchants charging excessive prices for essential commodities including food, water, hotel rooms, ice, gasoline, lumber and other equipment needed in counties where a state of emergency has been declared.
Under Florida’s price gouging law, violators can face civil penalties of up to $1,000 per violation and a total of up to $25,000 in fines for multiple violations within a 24-hour period. Under state law, it is also a 2 nd-degree misdemeanor to sell goods and serves to the public without a business tax receipt.
Price gouging can be reported by calling 866-9NO-SCAMS or through Florida’s NO SCAMS mobile app, which users can download through the Apple and Android stores.
Florida’s price gouging law only applies in counties under a State of Emergency Declaration. The emergency declaration announced by Gov. Ron DeSantis, Wednesday, applies to 26 counties, including Florida’s entire Atlantic coast, but also includes inland counties including Hendry and Glades Counties.
Copyright 2020 WGCU. To see more, visit WGCU.